Passports and Visas

In order to visit Santorini you need to be able to enter Greece, thus the travel documents necessary are the same as for entering Greece and depend on where you’re coming from and the traveller’s nationality.

European Union

Anyone that’s already in Greece or anywhere in Europe only requires a valid ID or Passport to travel to Greece. VISA is not required in this case. Here is a list of countries which this applies for:

Germany, Austria, Bulgaria, Belgium, Cyprus, Denmark, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Estonia, Finland, France, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Luxembourg, Lithuania, Malta, Norway, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Republic Czech, United Kingdom, Romania and Sweden.

Other Countries that don’t require VISA

There are also countries out of the European Union which allow you to visit Greece and consequently Santorini, without a VISA for a short time. This time must be less than 90 days. Here’s a list of those countries:

Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Vatican City, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Colombia, El Salvador, United States, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Macao, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, Nicaragua, New Zealand, Panama, Peru, Paraguay, Republic of Korea, San Marino, Switzerland, Singapore, Uruguay and Venezuela.

The rest of the countries

If you’re from a country now mentioned anywhere above, then the best option for you is to go to the Greek Embassy in your home country and seek more information there about acquiring a VISA to visit Greece. You can also consult the webpage of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Greece.